Saturday, 5 October 2019

Tories hold in Cardiff's Whitchurch and Tongwynlais by-election

Conservatives candidate Mia Rees has been elected to Cardiff council after winning the Whitchurch and Tongwynlais by-election with 36% of the vote on Thursday.

The result means the Conservatives have held onto the seat, with 1,544 votes, with the by-election being held for a councillor to be appointed following the death of Timothy Davies.

The wars has in the past been won by Labour and 

The other three council seats are held by Conservative councillors Linda Morgan, Mike Jones-Pritchard and Mike Phillips.

Whitchurch & Tongwynlais (Cardiff) result:
Whitchurch and Tongwynlais Btyelectioin 2019
Whitchurch & Tongwynlais - results
Election CandidatePartyVotes%
 Mia Rhiannon ReesWelsh Conservatives / Ceidwadwyr Cymreig154436%Elected
 Marc Alan PalmerWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru119028%Not elected
 Dan AllsobrookPlaid Cymru / Party of Wales67416%Not elected
 Sian Anne DonneWelsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru58814%Not elected
 David Peter GriffinThe Green Party / Plaid Werdd2486%Not elected
Voting Summary
Total votes4244
Number of ballot papers rejected9
Number of postal votes sent2494

There seems little to comfort any Party , though Labour's failure to recapture a seat they won in 2012 must be surely indicative of their failure to win a seat after nearly ten years of a Tory government .

Previous Election 2017
Whitchurch & Tongwynlais - results
Election CandidatePartyVotes%
 Michael James PhillipsWelsh Conservative Party Candidate / Ymgeisydd Plaid Geidwadol Cymru290511%Elected
 Timothy Hywel DaviesWelsh Conservative Party Candidate / Ymgeisydd Plaid Geidwadol Cymru290011%Elected
 Linda Lesley MorganWelsh Conservative Party Candidate / Ymgeisydd Plaid Geidwadol Cymru285611%Elected
 Michael Jones-PritchardWelsh Conservative Party Candidate / Ymgeisydd Plaid Geidwadol Cymru275310%Elected
 Hannah Rose BuckinghamWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru270010%Not elected
 Marc Alan PalmerWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru24889%Not elected
 Norman GettingsWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru24619%Not elected
 Maliika KaabaWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru22348%Not elected
 Mali RowlandsCardiff Plaid - Plaid Cymru Caerdydd9624%Not elected
 Daniel James John AllsobrookCardiff Plaid - Plaid Cymru Caerdydd9514%Not elected
 Glenys Marian EvansCardiff Plaid - Plaid Cymru Caerdydd8853%Not elected
 Julia Mary BurnsCardiff Plaid - Plaid Cymru Caerdydd8563%Not elected
 Lynne Barrett-LeeWelsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru5402%Not elected
 Dominic EggbeerWelsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru5162%Not elected
 Geraldine Helen NicholsWelsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru3651%Not elected
 Usman Mahmood BukhariWelsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru3121%Not elected

In 2012 Labour win all the seats

Election CandidatePartyVotes%
 Jonathan EvansWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru252912%Elected
 Chris DavisWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru245411%Elected
 Ben ThomasWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru235411%Elected
 David GrovesWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru229010%Elected
 Linda MorganWelsh Conservatives / Ceidwadwyr Cymreig220610%Not elected
 Timothy DaviesWelsh Conservatives / Ceidwadwyr Cymreig214410%Not elected
 Brian GriffithsWelsh Conservatives / Ceidwadwyr Cymreig20809%Not elected
 Michael Jones-PritchardWelsh Conservatives / Ceidwadwyr Cymreig20809%Not elected
 John RowlandsPlaid Cymru6413%Not elected
 Heulwen JonesPlaid Cymru6233%Not elected
 Ceri MorganPlaid Cymru6003%Not elected
 Dewi OwenPlaid Cymru5883%Not elected
 Paul AtkinsGreen Party / Plaid Werdd4952%Not elected
 Joyce LenternWelsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru2651%Not elected
 Matthew HarriesWelsh Labour / Llafur Cymru2331%Not elected
 Ruth AbbottWelsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru2261%Not elected
 Mark ReesWelsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru1831%Not elected
Voting Summary
Total votes21991
Number of ballot papers issued5894
Number of ballot papers rejected52

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

So the visit of Leanne and Adam Price made no difference.
They should have asked Neil McEvoy how to run a successful campaign in Cardiff.