Friday, 12 July 2019

Alun Cairns' hypocrisy’ over Pride photo continues.

It is of course hard (or should be) for Westminster MPs to  vote to extend same the sex marriage law to Northern Ireland.

It is after all a devolved matter, but there is nor is there any signs of the Assembly  siting and it  has not functioned since March 2017.

Even if it was too meet it is unlikely to pass such a measure  Despite legislation coming into force in 2014 to make same-sex marriage legal in England and Wales, and separately in Scotland, it still remains illegal in Northern Ireland as it is a devolved issue.
There have been five votes on the matter in the Northern Ireland Assembly since 2012, and despite the final vote in 2015 in favour of bringing in the law, it was vetoed by the Democratic Unionist Party.

Any vote taken by the Assembly can be made dependent on cross-community support if a petition of concern is presented to the Speaker. A petition of concern may be brought by 30 or more MLAs.[28] In such cases, a vote on proposed legislation will only pass if supported by a weighted majority (60%) of members voting, including at least 40% of each of the nationalist and unionist designations present and voting. Effectively this means that, provided enough MLAs from a given community agree, that community (or a sufficiently large party in that community) can exercise a veto over the Assembly's decisions. The purpose is to protect each community from legislation that would favour the other community.

Of course Same Sex Marriages are not measures that would "favour the other community"and one wonders whether this should fall into the position where it can be vetoed.

Welsh MPs seem to have accepted that this is a case where the rights of the people in Norther Ireland  are being constrained and voted on their  views on same Sex Marriages.

Didn't vote (both were tellers)

Chris Elmore (Labour - Ogmore) and Nick Smith (Labour - Blaenau Gwent).

Those who voted for equal marriage in Northern Ireland

Tonia Antoniazzi (Labour – Gower)
Guto Bebb (Conservative – Aberconwy)
Kevin Brennan (Labour – Cardiff West)
Chris Bryant (Labour – Rhondda)
Ann Clwyd (Labour – Cynon Valley)
Wayne David (Labour – Caerphilly)
David T. C. Davies (Conservative – Monmouth)
Stephen Doughty (Labour – Cardiff South and Penarth)
Jonathan Edwards (Plaid Cymru – Carmarthen East and Dinefwr)
Nia Griffith (Labour – Llanelli)
David Hanson (Labour – Delyn)
Carolyn Harris (Labour – Swansea East)
Simon Hart (Conservative – Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire)
Gerald Jones (Labour – Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)
Chris Evans (Labour - Islwyn)
Stephen Kinnock (Labour – Aberavon)
Ben Lake (Plaid Cymru – Ceredigion)
Ian Lucas (Labour – Wrexham)
Anna McMorrin (Labour – Cardiff North)
Madeleine Moon (Labour – Bridgend)
Jessica Morden (Labour – Newport East)
Chris Ruane (Labour - Vale of Clwyd)
Susan Elan Jones (Labour - Clwyd South)
Albert Owen (Labour – Ynys Mon)
Christina Rees (Labour – Neath)
Liz Saville Roberts (Plaid Cymru – Dwyfor Meirionnydd)
Owen Smith (Labour – Pontypridd)
Jo Stevens (Labour – Cardiff Central)
Mark Tami (Labour – Alyn and Deeside)
Nick Thomas-Symonds (Labour – Torfaen)
Hywel Williams (Plaid Cymru – Arfon) 
In total 383 MPs voted in favour and 73 against.

Who voted against

David Jones (Conservative – Clwyd West)
Mr Jones has been contacted for comment.

Five Welsh MPs abstained

Alun Cairns (Conservative – Vale of Glamorgan)
Mr Cairns said: "I had an urgent and sensitive constituency matter so was unable to vote".
Stephen Crabb (Conservative – Preseli Pembrokeshire)
Mr Crabb said he was unable to attend.
Geraint Davies (Labour – Swansea West)
Yes despite saying he now "regrets" his vote against gay marriage in 2013, Secretary of State for Wales Alun Cairns did not vote.
He did however take part in other votes on the same night in relation to Northern Ireland - which were held at 6.58pm, 7.14pm, 7.39pm and 7.54pm.
Preseli Pembs MP Stephen Crabb did not vote in the equal marriage debate, but did take part in the four subsequent votes, as did Montgomeryshire MP Glyn Davies.
Cairns in particular has been accused of hypocrisy
Alun Cairns shared a picture of him standing outside 10 Downing Street while flower arrangers prepared a multi-coloured display. The Secretary of State for Wales said there was ‘great excitement around the place’ ahead of a Pride reception yesterday in honour of the LGBT community. But many were quick to point out how he voted six years ago when same-sex marriage was passed through Parliament. Cairns voted against the Gay Marriage Act along with 169 other MPs in 2013, but it was passed thanks to a majority of 395 MPs voting for the Bill.

Tory MP Alun Cairns called a 'hypocrite' for Pride photo after voting against gay marriage

However, Cairns has previously admitted his ‘regret’ at voting against the Bill. Following the first Pride event in his constituency last September, Cairns said he has seen the ‘positive difference’ gay marriage has made to many.

He said
: ‘This hugely successful local event is a reflection of a wider picture in recent years. Gay Marriage passed in the House of Commons in 2013. ‘I regret the decision to vote against it and see the positive difference it has made to the lives of many.’

And  yet he failed to support the extension to Northern Ireland.

It seems that any claims of a change of heart is not bound out ny facts.

1 comment:

Gwyn Isaac said...

I have a one word answer to Cairns starting with w and ending in r but I don't want to swear on your blog.